About Us

The Government of India has restructured the Scheme ‘Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration’ to acknowledge, recognize and reward the exemplary work done by Civil Servants across the country. The Prime Minister’s Awards for 2020 seek to recognize the contribution of Civil Servants to inclusive development through credit flow to the priority sector, promoting people’s movements through Jan Bhagidari and improving service delivery and redressal of public grievances. The Awards under the Innovation category have been broad based to recognize excellence at Central Government, State Government and district levels separately. The other categories of Awards for 2020 are for the overall progress achieved under the Aspirational District Program and the National Mission for clean Ganga. The total number of awards for 2020 are 15. The Awards shall be conferred on Rashtriya Ekta Diwas on October 31, 2020.

Category: Priority Programmes

The awards shall be presented on the occasion of Civil Services Day on 21st of April, 2020. The following six Priority Programmes have been identified by Government:

(i)      Ayushman Bharat Scheme

(ii)     Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Grameen Kaushalya Yojana (DDU-GKY)

(iii)    Swachh Bharat Mission (Grameen)

(iv)    Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban)

(v)     Pradhan Mantri Kisan Samman Nidhi (PM-KISAN), and

(vi)    Namami Gange Yojana

Category: Innovations

The second category of awards will be conferred upon innovative initiatives, classified by:  

  • Innovation (General)
  • Innovation (Aspirational Districts Programme) 

and shall be given to the organizations of Central Government, State Government and Districts respectively for innovations in Land Administration, Environment Conservation, Disaster Management, Water Conservation, Energy, Education and Health, Women and Child centric initiatives and so on. 

Category: Government of India Officers Award 

The third and final category of awards - Government of India Officers Award seeks to identify, acknowledge and recognize the honorable initiatives and work undertaken by senior officials of the Government. There shall be two awards, one each for Additional / Joint Secretary level officers, Director/Deputy Secretary level officers serving in the Government of India in the following categories The officers belonging to the posts of:

  • Additional / Joint Secretary Level Officers (Prabhari Officers, Jal Shakti Abhiyan) 
  • Director/ DS Level Officers (Nodal Officers for Jal Shakti Abhiyan)

The Prime Minister’s Awards for Excellence in Public Administration therefore seek to highlight, commend and bestow honor upon those who ceaselessly work to uplift and empower the Nation to reach greater heights – through inspiring acts, administrative brilliance and spirit of great change. Those who exist, through clarity of thought and action and those who stand by 

as exemplary examples of a better future.